Lemon Millefleur Sablepoots – 7-8 April 2016

Leave a comment

April 30, 2016 by janem213

Years ago, when I started hatching, it was only ducks I was interested in, I couldn’t understand why people would prefer chickens. One day though I saw a photo of one of these beautiful little bantams, so pretty. The adults have stunning yellow feathers with black speckles …

image
(Google Lemon Millefleur Sablepoots for photos of them)

…very pretty but totally impractical with their extraordinarily feathered feet and legs, not good for a muddy garden, and not renown for their egg laying. Now I am where I am though I have the room to give them a proper, mainly undercover, home… and so decided to have some.

I got 2 lots of eggs from different breeders, one lot of 12 and 1 lot of 10 which ended up being only 6 when he didn’t have enough to send.  Not the plan! (Have never known any of thing to so regularly not go to plan as hatching!!!)

At lockdown  (3 days before the hatch) 8 of the 12 and 4 of the 6 were looking good, randomly 66% of each. Of these 6 of the 8 hatched and all 4 of the 4, giving me 6 and another 4 unrelated…

image

First one to hatch

image

I used a new style incy to hatch with a divider keeping the 2 groups separate. One group was marked with a little purple dye.

image

1 and 2 days old

image
10 and 11 days old, 3 of these getting a bit above themselves!

18 eggs in the incy 17 March.

12 eggs good before lockdown on 4 April.

Of these 10 hatched 7-8 April 2016.

Leave a Reply

