Californian Quail 21-22 May 2016

Leave a comment

June 5, 2016 by janem213

As mentioned in the posts about the Ornamentals, the group of birds I bought included 2 Californian Quail. The 2 were both females which although quite drab compared with the males are still lovely birds. Sadly when I transferred the birds to their new enclosure somehow they escaped. They were spotted soon after on the road : (  but I doubted that even if they didn’t get run over that they would still be alive now : ) Just 2 days ago though I was in the little orchard out the back (the back garden) and I swear I heard their distinctive ka-HEEEE-ha call! It would be amazing if they were still alive!

I decided to hatch some more to add to the enclosure when old enough. I got 3 lots of 12 eggs from different breeders and had 11 hatch, some from each lot.

Of the 4 different sorts of eggs in the incubator during the power cut I thought these, being so tiny, we’re likely to be most adversely affected. 24 hours after the power cut I candled one of these eggs and to my delight saw the developing embryo wiggle! I don’t tend to candle quail eggs as it can adversely affect them. With this group I did one very brief candle at lockdown – dark egg, hopefully alive and developing ok; light egg, infertile so removed.

Here are some photos:

image

First few hatched

image

One nearly hatched

image

5 all in a row!

image

A couple of days old just about to be cleaned out

image

4 and 5 days old

image

9/10 days old. Looks like the males are already developing their crests 🙂

image

They’ve just had a growth spurt. Now massive compared to how tiny they were when hatched… and only 2 weeks old.

36 eggs in the incy 27 April

24 good at lock down

21-22 May 11 hatched

Leave a Reply

