Guinea Fowl 10-15 August 2016

2

September 2, 2016 by janem213

Decided to have another try at hatching guinea fowl. I got 3 lots of eggs from different breeders. Lou had one lot of 12 eggs and I had the other two, a 12 and a 6.

Previously I had had one successful GF hatch which was for Paul but none since. Hopefully with 3 lots of eggs this would be better… and it was!

image
First few to hatch

image
Treacle (as always, though she doesn’t look enamoured here) loves the babies. This one had got a bit stuck so I was just helping it.

image
6 went to Lou’s to go in with hers in a large brooder…

image
There are about 13 in all – 6 of them the ones above.

… and I’ve kept 3 to keep as long as possible: a lavender, a white from another group with a black spot on its head  and a white faced one that hatched long after the others. I will keep them as long as I can, hopefully they won’t be too noisy too soon!!

image
They are nearly 3 weeks old now. Should really have brought one of the ones Lou hatched back when I took the 6 to be with hers then I’d know they are all totally unrelated but the white faced one was so tiny, hatching days after the others, and I wasn’t sure if it would survive and even if it did it was so much smaller it wasn’t likely to thrive with all the others being so much larger.

18 (12+6) eggs in the incy 14 July.

At lockdown 13 (9+4) were looking good.

6–11 August, 9 (8+1) hatched.

2 thoughts on “Guinea Fowl 10-15 August 2016

  1. Louise says:

    Love your blogs xx

Leave a Reply

